This is the "Home" page of the "Junior Essay: Americana" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Junior Essay: Americana  

Find an interesting topic about American culture, and research high quality library resources to gather the best information.
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pinkertonacademy.org/content.php?pid=427091 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Choose a Topic

Reliable Websites

Search for an authoritative website in Google about your topic. Select addresses that end in .edu, .gov or .org. These sites are most likely to contain accurate information. 

 

Books in the Library

The library has a large collection of books on specific topics. Check in the online catalog on the library's web page for availability. You can check out a book for your junior essay for six weeks.

Cover Art
The Prohibition Era - Louise Chipley Slavicek
ISBN: 9781604130058
Publication Date: 2008-10-01

Cover Art
The Boys of Winter - Wayne Coffey; Jim Craig (Foreword by)
ISBN: 140004765X
Publication Date: 2005-01-11
The U.S. Hockey Team wins the gold at Lake Placid in 1980.

Cover Art
The Good, the Bad, and the Barbie - Tanya Lee Stone
ISBN: 9780670011872
Publication Date: 2010-10-14
How has the Barbie affected American culture?

Cover Art
Japanese American Internment During World War II - Wendy L. Ng
ISBN: 031331375X
Publication Date: 2001-12-30
After Pearl Harbor Japanese Americans are taken to internment camps.

 

Americana

Check your teacher's guidelines on this assignment. This essay focuses on an event or person in American history that has had a major impact on American culture and history. There are many good subjects to choose from. Look at some of the topics in the databases before you decide on a subject. You might find an exciting subject you didn't know existed.

REMOTE ACCESS:To access the library's online resources from home, please get the passwords from the library or from the library's Aspen page. 

 

eBooks on Specific Subjects

Check the Subject Guide to the Databases and eBooks or the online catalog on the library's web page to find ebooks specific to your topic. Here are a few examples of what is available:

 

Battles That Changed American History - Spencer C. Tucker
ISBN: 144082861X
Identifies 100 of the greatest victories and defeats in U.S. history and discusses how they changed the course of events.

Cover Art
100 Entertainers Who Changed America - Robert C. Sickels
ISBN: 9781598848304
From Muhammed Ali to Andy Warhol this two volume sets describes the most influential American entertainers.

Cover Art
Icons of Rock - Scott Schinder; Andy Schwartz
ISBN: 9780313081903
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Provides an overview of the most important rock artists and their influence on music and culture.

Cover Art
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century - Steven A. Riess
ISBN: 9780765617064
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Covers sports from 1618 to 1960.

Cover Art
Icons of American Cooking - Victor W. Geraci; Elizabeth S. Demers
ISBN: 9780313381331
Publication Date: 2011-04-01

Cover Art
U. S. Court Cases - Thomas Tandy Lewis
ISBN: 9781587656729
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Describes 700 court cases, largely from the Supreme Court.

 

Substantive Research

If you are still struggling to find the right idea, you can do a keyword search in the Library Online Catalog for "americana."  You can browse through those books to help get an idea for your subject. 

Once you have your topic, you can begin researching substantive material to use in your assignment. 

For books on your subject, search for your keywords in the Library Online Catalog.
 
If you are looking for additional resources such as magazine articles, a good place to start is to use the library page that has the databases organized by subject

On the databases page, click the tab that has the subject of your research topic.  The databases that will be helpful for that subject is listed at the top.  At the bottom of the page are related eBooks. 

Once you are in the right database, search by keywords using the simple search field.  If your keywords return too many results, you can improve your results by adding the keywords "american culture" or "americana" to your search.  For example, instead of just searching "9/11" change the search to "9/11 american culture" and you will get better results. 

Some of the main databases are listed below:

 

eBooks

The following are eBooks that could be useful to everyone. Also there are eBooks on each decade of the 20th century on the library's web page.

Cover Art
American Icons - Dennis Hall; Susan G. Hall
ISBN: 027598429X
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Includes the people, places and things that have changed America.

Cover Art
100 People Who Changed 20th-Century America - Mary Cross (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610690850
Publication Date: 2012-10-01

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture - Gale Editor (Editor)
ISBN: 9781558628472
Dsecribes music, sports, media and culture since the 1920s.

Great Events from History, the 19th Century - John Powell (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9781587652998
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Describes events and people, including the significance of events.

Cover Art
The 20th Century - Robert F. Gorman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781587653247
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Describes events and people from 1901 - 1940 as well as their impact on the United States.

Cover Art
Icons of Black America - Matthew C. Whitaker
ISBN: 9780313376436
Publication Date: 2011-02-01

 

Which Topic will you pick?

Bill Gates Facebook Jackie Robinson & Baseball Ellen Degeneres The Statute of Liberty Jonestown Hip HopThe Atomic Bomb How 9/11 Changed America

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip